Info about the 2014 World Storytelling Day (20 March 2014) videoconference hosted by the World Storytelling Institute is here.


A link to a recording of the videoconference is here. 


There is a minute of blankness starting at approx the 16 minute mark, due to a technical difficulty on the WSI side.





To join a "Google Hangout On Air" videoconference

for the first time:


If possible, please use Google Chrome, or Safari.


For this process, it seems one needs to have a gmail ID.

If you might not already have a gmail ID, perhaps you

could create one.


Please open your gmail page.


To accept an invitation to join a Google Hangout

videoconference for the first time:


On the upper right corner of your gmail page, there

may be an image of a bell.


If you might NOT see an image of a bell, look for

a 3x3 set of squares in this same area of the page

(the upper right corner).


If you locate this 3x3 set of squares, click on it. Then

click on "Google+". You would be guided to join



Once you might join, it seems a bell might then be visible.


If you might see an image of a bell, click on it. Then

you might see the invitation to join a Google Hangout



Click on the invitation, and you would be asked to join

Google Hangout. Follow the instructions regarding

how to do so. You may be asked to download a plug-in.


Finally, hopefully, you would be prompted to accept

the invitation, and you would enter the videoconference.





Just for general interest:


To initiate a "Google Hangout On Air"

(a videoconference that is webcasted for others to observe):


Go to

and follow the prompts.






Storytelling and Discussion via videoconference__Hosted in Chennai, on Thursday 20 March, World Storytelling Day.


Please join us at the World Storytelling Institute (based in Chennai, south India) for a videoconference session of discussion and storytelling. 


Starting at

Sydney (Australia) time -- 3am, Fri 21st.

Singapore time -- Midnight  (Thurs 20th / Fri 21st) .

India time -- 9:30pm, Thurs 20th.

England time -- 4pm, Thurs 20th.

USA East Coast time -- 11am, Thurs 20th.

USA West Coast time -- 8am, Thurs 20th.

Hawaii time -- 6am, Thurs 20th.

(Scheduled duration, 90 minutes.)


The themes of World Storytelling Day this year are Monsters & Dragons.  We would discuss these themes, and also the state of storytelling in the world today.  Along the way, we might even tell some stories.


We would be using "Google Hangout", with the "On Air" option (to webcast the videoconference live through a Youtube page).


For a previous example of a recording of a "Google Hangout On Air" webcasted-videoconference, please see the recording of a recent  conversation a group of us had about Storytelling and Healing.  The link to this recording is here.  





Questions or Comments?

Please contact

Dr Eric Miller (PhD in Folklore)

98403 94282